Templates of customer service emails
Here are some generic and useful templates, take and use them as you like.

Situation: Hulk is angry

Don't turn green by a couple of rude words - you and the customer are actually fighting on the same side against Thanos the problem.

Hello Michael,

Thank you for letting me know about your recent experience with us, I'm really sorry to see you are that disappointed.
It's not supposed to be this way, and I'm going to go to the bottom of this.
I've got a tech specialist to get this handled, he is looking into the issue at the moment. I will get back to you immediately once I get any updates.
Please let me know if there is anything else that you feel can be done on our end. I'll do my best to help.


Situation: Billing issues

These can infuriate even the most patient person. Always be very careful when it comes to billing problems.

Dear Robert,

Thank you much for your email.

I'm very sorry about the troubles and frustration you've had with our service lately. I understand perfectly this is not the best experience with our company.
I'll do my best to help.
The reason your credit card was charged is that the monthly subscription starts automatically once the trial period ends.
I'll pass your words regarding the way it is set up at the moment to the product managers, we will consider adding a prior email notification or find another workaround to avoid such situations in the future.
I've also just contacted our billing department and asked if we can extend the trial period for you or provide you a discount, so you can fully test the system out before you decide.
Please let me know if there is anything else I can do for you.

Have a good one,

Situation: Delayed response / awaiting customers

When you notify your customer that he needs to wait, you should also include an approximate deadline when the problem will be solved.
If the problem is not solved by the deadline, you still need to provide an update to your customer and give him another deadline (but do not abuse this, seriously. Just fix the bloody thing).

Hello Steven,

I apologize for the wait and thank you for your patience.
I've just passed your request to the tech department. I will update you immediately once I hear back from the them.
We will do our best to get this fixed as soon as possible, but it may take up to 6-12 hours I'm afraid.
I will updatу the status of your request in 4 hours.
Please, let me know if there is anything else I can help you with in the meantime.

Best wishes,

Situation: Feedback

Always thank customers for taking time and sharing their opinion. They help you up your game.

Hello Chris,

Thank you so much for your kind words and the feedback. I'm passing it to the team. We really appreciate you help us make the Sing better!

As for the Rails version of the template, unfortunately we don't have any ETA on it just yet (we are focused on the react and angular versions at the moment).
We keep an eye on all the suggestions and requests so we can focus on the functions that will be most helpful.
Thank you one more time for your email!
Please, feel free to contact us anytime if you have any questions or suggestions.
We will be happy to hear from you.

Have a wonderful weekend!

Situation: Discount

Sometimes you have to turn down discount / donation requests.

Hi Claudia,

Thanks for your interest in our service. Unfortunately, we do not have any active discount codes at this time available to apply. However, you could sign up for our newsletter, if you wish, as this would give you the heads up when specials/sales/etc. happen. We often run promotion events like that.

Thank you again,


Hi Charlene,

Thanks so much for your interest in our product!

Because we are still a start up company, we don't yet have the means to mass produce as quickly as we'd like. Currently, we are trying to make sure our supply catches up with demand. We're still in the midst of manufacturing, and fulfilling and shipping preorders as quickly as possible.
For this reason, unfortunately, we do not have the option for donations at this time.
We wish you much success with your event and really appreciate your checking with us.

All the best,

Situation: Delays

Imagine your courier fails to deliver orders in time. At moments like this you can only "oops" and apologize.

Dear Ashley,

I am very sorry about this long waiting time. I understand that our products were required for urgent purposes. Despite our effort to deliver your order on time using Express Delivery Service, we didn't meet up with the time allotted for the delivery of those products.
We are currently discussing this problem with our carrier. We might switch to another express courier service to ensure our customers get their orders in time.
We promise to impress you when you make your next order. If you have any other question or need further assistance with your order, feel free to call me directly on +123456789.

All the best,
Head of customer service department

Situation: Feature request

Not all features requested by your customers make sense. Not all of them fit into your product development plan. Either reject them softly or provide an indefinite timeline.

Hi Darren,

Thank you so much for your feedback and idea. We really appreciate you taking time to share them with us.
I can definitely see how this feature would be useful. As a small team with a massive roadmap, we have to pick new features based on the value they'll add to the most users possible.
At the moment, we won't be able to make this one work - but we'll keep it in mind for our future development plans for sure.
With that said, a lot of our users prefer our mobile site to the native app, because it holds much more functionality and can deliver what you need. I'd love to have a quick call with you to walk you through how to get the most out of it. Would Wednesday 2pm PST work for you?
Always happy to answer your questions.

Have a good one,

Dear Connie,

Thank you much for sharing your thoughts on our app with us! We truly cherish customers' opinions and discuss all their ideas with our dev team.
Your suggestion will be discussed during our next roadmap overview. As we have many more plans on improving the app, I cannot provide you an ETA for this feature you suggested.
Hope you're all good. If you have any questions or suggestions, do not hesitate to contact me.

Best wishes,
Customer service
is the new marketing
Alfred Newsletter
Subscribe to my email newsletter for my thoughts, useful tips and valuable resources, once in a while
Dream Support
© 2017 Dream Support
Website Development: Epicmax